Making a Spectacle of Yourself

For the word ‘Spectacle’ I initially thought of particular EVENTS. Being late October/early November, Halloween and Bonfire night were obvious choices for events to film.

However, I didn’t want to do the expected, I wanted to travel outside of what would be ‘normality’. I could have simply gone out and recorded the fireworks and placed a music track over the footage and handed that in as my project, but I wanted to do something different.

I started to look into people and arrogance. People tend to ‘make a spectacle of themselves’ in order to promote themselves or show they have authority or dominance over others (or at least believe they do). This is one way of making a spectacle of yourself. Another could perhaps be something regrettable, for example getting drunk and doing something embarrassing.

I see myself capable of arrogance and brutality… That’s a fierce thing, to discover within yourself that which you despise the most in others – George Stevens.

I looked at clips online, in particular YouTube, of people holding a camera to their own face and speaking about themselves to their ‘audience’ of whom the majority they will not know. Is it attention-seeking?

I watched many vlogs while gathering ideas for my project, as they are put online by people who are confident in voicing their opinions. They also show how I wish to edit my video – avoiding silence between cuts and having the subject in the centre of the screen, following the rule of thirds.

Check out this website, it made me laugh… http://iamawesome.com/

All too often arrogance accompanies strength, and we must never assume that justice is on the side of the strong. The use of power must always be accompanied by moral choice – Theodore Bikel.

Here is a screenshot from the edit on Final Cut X:

Bellow is my first edit for my portrayal of ‘Spectacle’:

One thought on “Making a Spectacle of Yourself

  1. […] https://addavies.wordpress.com/2011/11/07/making-a-spectacle-of-yourself/ LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_bg", "efefef"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_border", "a7a7a7"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_text", "555555"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_link", "000000"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_url", "000000"); LD_AddCustomAttr("LangId", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "technology"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "education"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "sports"); LD_AddSlot("wpcom_below_post"); LD_GetBids(); Rate this: Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

