Source Radio Experience

Over the duration of my second year at Coventry University I have been a member of Source Radio, the University’s student radio station. Most Fridays I plan, produce and host my own show at 8-10pm, whereby I play a variety of music (new/old/house/electro/dance/rnb/rock/indie etc.) and I am more than often joined by certain guests. I talk about new music releases, the news, interview guests, have phone-ins and interact with my audience.

At first I didn’t have a clue how to control the studio, however now I am confident in how to use everything in there, (even though Miriad, the university radio software enjoys crashing every 15 minutes or so). I recently took my camera to my past few radio shows to give a quick insight to what I get up to in there. Take a look:

This experience has allowed me to become more confident when speaking to a large audience, and has enabled me to become more efficient at planning and organising, as there is a lot of pre-production and planning required – much more than I imagined.

After taking part in this experience it has made me consider that this is possibly a career I would like to go in to… who knows.

Feel free to have a look at the Source Radio Website.

Leave a Reply

