Module 113 Reflection and Evaluation

I believe that as a team, the Blue Group worked amazingly together. I for one enjoyed every second I have spent with each and every person involved in the production over the course of this module. I would more than happily work with all of them again in other assignments; it was good fun!

I loved being the presenter of the show and I feel myself and Kate got along really well and that came across on screen too. It’s always important to like the people you work with, and I definitely did. Using what I’ve learnt from drama and past production work I aimed to try and maintain the interest of the viewers by keeping the show lighthearted and entertaining. As it isn’t a children’s show I didn’t was to come across too simple and immature therefore I adopted a more formal approach, as students are adults who expect a professional and fluent presentation that they can trust. Kate did the same.

Being a presenter I had a lot on my shoulders in terms of the overall look of the show. If I messed up, I had the choice to improvise and cover it up or give up and put my head down in shame. I knew that during the live broadcast if I make a mistake, giving up would not be an option. I enjoy improvising, it’s what I do best whenever told to speak about something for a period of time. Of course, doing some background research is necessary in order to improvise for a while, which is why I had a look at magazine shows aimed at a similar demographic to the one we had chosen, such as ‘Top Gear’. In ‘Top Gear’, humour is used to engage the audience and make them feel more comfortable and part of the show. In our show, jokes aren’t necessarily used but laughter is used especially while myself and Kate talk to each other or when we converse with our guests. This is to make the show feel more welcoming for the people in the studio, as well as at home.

Body language is also important while interacting with guests on the show. For example, during the interview with the band, if I was to sit with my arms crossed and head down I would be suggesting that I was not interested in what they had to say and be giving off a negative vibe, which would have been picked up by them resulting in them feeling isolated and not wanting to open up to us. However, myself and Kate engaged with the band, we met up with them before the shoot, got to know them had a few laughs and during the shoot we listened to what they had to say and prompted them into speaking more. They opened up more and more to us as we went on which looked amazing on screen.

Although there were some issues with the set and lighting, they were soon overcome because as a group we all offered advice, suggested alternative ideas and solutions to problems that we faced. Every now and then we came across difficulties making the clip mics operate properly. Nasiso and Brian worked well together in solving this problem and they soon managed to fix all issues surrounding sound; Nas working in the studio and Brian in the gallery.

Kelvin worked hard on producing the VTs and also helping with the sports debate. Here he is bellow with Brian (gallery sound), Jaz (auto-cue) and Alex (vision mixer).

The script has issues at the start as there were parts that made the show too informal and appear shabby. There was a section just after the sports debate was introduced where Kate was supposed to say “Okay, well I’ll leave you lads to it then!” We decided to scrap cheesy (and slightly stereotypical) sections like this from the script as we didn’t was to portray that perhaps girls knew less about sports. Myself and Kate planned the questions for the interview and intended to add lip for the interaction between questions. We made sure to keep an eye out for the floor manager Lydia to tell us when to wrap it up to ensure we didn’t run overtime.

Mick did a fantastic job as director, keeping everyone aware of their roles and queuing the cameras correctly when different people were speaking and organising the whole layout of the show. Working in collaboration with the director, James, the PA, did well to keep the timing of the show to dead on 20 minutes. Also, Laura, the producer, kept everyone informed of meeting times and schedules, as well as keeping everything in the gallery and the studio under control. She completed the risk assessments and consent forms (bellow) from everyone involved in the show from outside the group (the band, models and sports guest).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The camera operators Stan, Sarah and Kirsty did a great job getting some inventive and different shots. Particularly during the bands’ performance at the end of the show where they used close-ups and panning shots on the guitars; this really made the show look professional like something you would see at the end of ‘Jonathan Ross’.

Bellow is our fashion expert Karine who has worked hard on researching this summer’s fashion in order to perform her presenting role for the fashion section.

Overall I am pleased with our final production; it worked out even better than expected! There were minor slip ups in one of the takes, because of a timing error, but they were corrected and improved in the others.

THE BLUE GROUP

 

Leave a Reply

